East or West, Entrepreneurs take care the Best


Tokyo Convention.

(Photo courtesy Canon Tokyo Convention)

During my forty-one year’s job with Pakistan International Airlines I worked voluntarily for about eight years as part-time Field Engineer Canon Pakistan to help out my friend who lost his home, his whole life earnings and entrepreneurship of Ex. Lever Brothers East Pakistan (present Unilever Bangladesh). He and his spouse landed at Karachi airport in 1971 with just the dress on their bodies and a pillow in his hand. The pillow was almost torn out by Custom Security to check for any objectionable substance. When asked, why he is holding that pillow, he explained that he can live without anything but cannot sleep without a pillow. Just few days later he borrowed some money and caught hold of agency for Canon West Pakistan. After working hours of airline I used to repair calculators and photocopiers in my 4×6 feet workshop set up by my friend. Occasionally I had to fly on weekends to other cities of Pakistan to attend the complaints of customers with prior permission from airline. A fine morning I received phone call from this friend “Get ready to leave for Tokyo with your newly wed as you have been invited by Canon”. Later I came to know that according to annual assessment “Canon Pakistan” has attained second position in after sales service throughout Far East (including New Zealand), South Asia and Middle East.

As I landed at Tokyo Haneda Airport with my spouse, I was amazed to look at the VIP treatment right from the doorstep of airplane, forty days stay at five-star hotels, a splendid recreation tour to Northern Japan and back to the door of plane departed to Karachi. During our stay a three days Convention was held at Canon Head office Tokyo. All the entrepreneurs of above mentioned regions were present where I was the only Field Engineer added just because of being top three best performers. My wife was especially invited as I was married just five months ago. Pakistan’s Flag was there on my table during conference and I was awarded with a gold-plated souvenir in a huge ceremony organized by Canon Calculator & Copier Division.

Canon Tokyo Convention0002 (Photo Album courtesy by 76 NP Tokyo Convention)

SAMSUNG

(Photo Album courtesy by 76 NP Tokyo Convention)

That was the moment I learned two lessons:

  1. A volunteer job definitely pays us off in some kind of uncountable worth.
  2. Value of team and their families sharing work is one of the top priorities for an Entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

